La. Farm Bureau President Jim Harper Elected to Fourth Term

    Louisiana Farm Bureau President Jim Harper

    NEW ORLEANS.— Louisiana Farm Bureau President Jim Harper was re-elected to serve for his fourth term at the 101st Annual Convention of the organization on Sunday.

    The election took place during the organization’s voting delegates session, and saw the reelection of the members of the executive Committee as well. Harper, a grain, sugarcane, rice and crawfish farmer, said it was an honor to serve as president once again, especially during the centennial year.

    “I am so proud to have served for the past three years and look forward to this next year in the best farm organization in the world,” Harper said. “The volunteer leaders, the staff and the farmers all across Louisiana are what make Farm Bureau the voice of Louisiana agriculture.”

    Also reelected were First Vice-President Marty Wooldridge of Caddo Parish, Second Vice-President Scott Wiggers of Franklin Parish, Third Vice-President Richard Fontenot of Evangeline Parish and Secretary-Treasurer Mike Melancon of St. Martin Parish.  Women’s Leadership Chair Michele Simoneaux was also re-elected to her position.

    Board members are elected from 11 districts across the state for two-year terms.  This year, odd-numbered districts held elections for board members.

    Newly elected to the board are District V Board Member Brian Churchman of Vernon Parish, District VII Board Member James “Bozo” Cox of Cameron Parish, District IX Board Member John Thompson of Feliciana Farm Bureau and District XI Board Member Bobby Simoneaux of Assumption Parish.


    Voting delegates reelected District I Board Member Loyd Dodson of Bossier Parish, and District III Board Member William Stutts of West Carroll Parish.


    Robert Duncan of Rapides Parish was also reelected as the Young Farmers and Ranchers Chair and Michele Simoneaux of Assumption Parish.


    Returning board members from even districts are District II Board Member Butch Oaks of Ouachita Parish, District IV Board Member Ryan Yerby of Grant Parish, District VI Board Member Joey Olivier of St. Landry Parish, District VIII Board Member Allen McClain, Jr. of Vermilion Parish, and District X Board Member Matt Gravois of East St. James Parish.


    Founded in 1921, the Louisiana Farm Bureau Federation is the state’s largest general farm organization representing more than 142,000 member families.


    The Latest

    Send press releases to

    View All Events

    [ecs-list-events limit="5" key="start date" order="asc"]
    Send press releases to

    View All Events