Florida: 2 Counties Designated Natural Disaster Areas to Freeze

    This Secretarial natural disaster designation allows the United States Department of Agriculture (USDA) Farm Service Agency (FSA) to extend much-needed emergency credit to producers recovering from natural disasters through emergency loans.

    Emergency loans can be used to meet various recovery needs including the replacement of essential items such as equipment or livestock, reorganization of a farming operation or the refinance of certain debts. FSA will review the loans based on the extent of losses, security available and repayment ability.

    Impacted Area: Florida

    Triggering Disaster: Freeze that occurred on March 11 through March 13, 2022

    Application Deadline: April 26, 2023

    Primary Counties Eligible: Gilchrist and Madison

    Contiguous Counties Also Eligible: Florida: Alachua, Columbia, Dixie, Hamilton, Jefferson, Lafayette, Levy, Suwannee and Taylor

    Georgia: Brooks and Lowndes

    More Resources

    For awareness, agricultural producers and landowners impacted by Hurricane Ian in Sept. 2022, continue to assess damages and file notices of loss with USDA. Producers and landowners who sustained damages and incurred hurricane-related losses should contact their local USDA Service Center.

    On, the Disaster Assistance Discovery ToolDisaster Assistance-at-a-Glance fact sheet, and Farm Loan Discovery Tool can help you determine program or loan options. To file a Notice of Loss or to ask questions about available programs, contact your local  USDA Service Center.

    The Latest

    Send press releases to

    View All Events

    [ecs-list-events limit="5" key="start date" order="asc"]
    Send press releases to

    View All Events