Mississippi: 9 Counties Designated Natural Disaster Areas to Drought

    Drought stressed corn. Photo: Texas AgriLife Extension

    This Secretarial natural disaster designation allows the United States Department of Agriculture (USDA) Farm Service Agency (FSA) to extend much-needed emergency credit to producers recovering from natural disasters through emergency loans.

    Emergency loans can be used to meet various recovery needs including the replacement of essential items such as equipment or livestock, reorganization of a farming operation or the refinance of certain debts. FSA will review the loans based on the extent of losses, security available and repayment ability.

    According to the U.S. Drought Monitor, these counties suffered from a drought intensity value during the growing season of 1) D2 Drought-Severe for 8 or more consecutive weeks or 2) D3 Drought-Extreme or D4 Drought-Exceptional.

    Impacted Area: Mississippi

    Triggering Disaster: Drought

    Application Deadline: April 26, 2023

    Primary Counties Eligible: Alcorn, Chickasaw, Lafayette, Lee, Marshall, Monroe, Pontotoc, Tishomingo and Union

    Contiguous Counties Also Eligible:
    Mississippi: Benton, Calhoun, Clay, DeSoto, Itawamba, Lowndes, Panola, Prentiss, Tate, Tippah, Webster and Yalobusha
    Alabama: Colbert, Franklin, Lamar, Lauderdale and Marion
    Tennessee: Fayette, Hardeman, Hardin, McNairy and Shelby

    More Resources

    On, the Disaster Assistance Discovery ToolDisaster Assistance-at-a-Glance fact sheet, and Farm Loan Discovery Tool can help you determine program or loan options. To file a Notice of Loss or to ask questions about available programs, contact your local USDA Service Center.

    USDA is an equal opportunity provider, employer and lender.

    The Latest

    Send press releases to

    View All Events

    [ecs-list-events limit="5" key="start date" order="asc"]
    Send press releases to

    View All Events