Missouri: 22 Counties Designated Natural Disaster Areas to Drought

    Drought stricken corn.

    This Secretarial natural disaster designation allows the United States Department of Agriculture (USDA) Farm Service Agency (FSA) to extend much-needed emergency credit to producers recovering from natural disasters through emergency loans.

    Emergency loans can be used to meet various recovery needs including the replacement of essential items such as equipment or livestock, reorganization of a farming operation or the refinance of certain debts. FSA will review the loans based on the extent of losses, security available and repayment ability.

    According to the U.S. Drought Monitor, these counties suffered from a drought intensity value during the growing season of 1) D2 Drought-Severe for 8 or more consecutive weeks or 2) D3 Drought-Extreme or D4 Drought-Exceptional.

    Impacted Area: Missouri

    Triggering Disaster: Drought

    Application Deadline: April 3, 2023

    Primary Counties Eligible:

    Barry Dallas Lawrence Stone
    Barton Douglas McDonald Taney
    Butler Greene Newton Vernon
    Cedar Hickory Polk Webster
    Christian Jasper St. Clair Wright
    Dade Laclede

    Contiguous Counties Also Eligible: Missouri:

    Bates Carter Howell Ripley Texas
    Benton Dunklin Ozark Stoddard Wayne
    Camden Henry Pulaski

    Arkansas: Benton, Boone, Carroll, Clay and Marion

    Kansas: Bourbon, Cherokee, Crawford and Linn

    Oklahoma: Delaware and Ottawa

    More Resources

    On, the Disaster Assistance Discovery ToolDisaster Assistance-at-a-Glance fact sheet, and Farm Loan Discovery Tool can help you determine program or loan options. To file a Notice of Loss or to ask questions about available programs, contact your local  USDA Service Center.

    The Latest

    Send press releases to

    View All Events

    [ecs-list-events limit="5" key="start date" order="asc"]
    Send press releases to

    View All Events