South Carolina: 6 Counties Designated Natural Disaster Areas to Freeze, High Winds

    Seedling corn after a freeze. Photo: Rome Ethredge, University of Georgia

    This Secretarial natural disaster designation allows the United States Department of Agriculture (USDA) Farm Service Agency (FSA) to extend much-needed emergency credit to producers recovering from natural disasters through emergency loans.

    Emergency loans can be used to meet various recovery needs including the replacement of essential items such as equipment or livestock, reorganization of a farming operation or the refinance of certain debts. FSA will review the loans based on the extent of losses, security available and repayment ability.

    Impacted Area: South Carolina

    Triggering Disaster: Freezing temperatures and high winds that occurred from March 12 through March 14, 2022.

    Application Deadline: Feb. 28, 2023

    Primary Counties Eligible: Cherokee, Edgefield, Greenville, Saluda, Spartanburg and Union

    Contiguous Counties Also Eligible:

    South Carolina: Abbeville, Aiken, Anderson, Chester, Fairfield, Greenwood, Laurens, Lexington, McCormick, Newberry, Pickens and York
    Georgia: Columbia and Richmond
    North Carolina: Cleveland, Henderson, Polk, Rutherford and Transylvania

    More Resources

    On, the Disaster Assistance Discovery ToolDisaster Assistance-at-a-Glance fact sheet, and Farm Loan Discovery Tool can help you determine program or loan options. To file a Notice of Loss or to ask questions about available programs, contact your local USDA Service Center.

    The Latest

    Send press releases to

    View All Events

    [ecs-list-events limit="5" key="start date" order="asc"]
    Send press releases to

    View All Events