North Carolina: 14 Counties Designated Natural Disasters to Drought

    Drought damaged, heat stressed corn. Photo: Clemson University

    This Secretarial natural disaster designation allows the United States Department of Agriculture (USDA) Farm Service Agency (FSA) to extend much-needed emergency credit to producers recovering from natural disasters through emergency loans.

    Emergency loans can be used to meet various recovery needs including the replacement of essential items such as equipment or livestock, reorganization of a farming operation or the refinance of certain debts. FSA will review the loans based on the extent of losses, security available and repayment ability.

    According to the U.S. Drought Monitor, these counties suffered from a drought intensity value during the growing season of 1) D2 Drought-Severe for 8 or more consecutive weeks or 2) D3 Drought-Extreme or D4 Drought-Exceptional.

    Impacted Area: North Carolina

    Triggering Disaster: Drought

    Application Deadline: Jan. 31, 2023

    Primary Counties Eligible:

    Beaufort Greene Martin Sampson
    Bladen Johnston Pitt Wayne
    Cumberland Jones Robeson Wilson
    Edgecombe Lenoir

    Contiguous Counties Also Eligible:

    North Carolina:

    Bertie Halifax Onslow
    Carteret Harnett Pamlico
    Columbus Hoke Pender
    Craven Hyde Scotland
    Duplin Moore Wake
    Franklin Nash Washington

    South Carolina: Dillon, Horry and Marlboro

    More Resources

    On, the Disaster Assistance Discovery ToolDisaster Assistance-at-a-Glance fact sheet, and Farm Loan Discovery Tool can help you determine program or loan options. To file a Notice of Loss or to ask questions about available programs, contact your local USDA Service Center.

    The Latest

    Send press releases to

    View All Events

    Send press releases to

    View All Events