South Dakota: 2 Counties Designated Natural Disaster Areas to Drought

    Texas A&M AgriLife photo by Dr. John Nielsen-Gammon

    This Secretarial natural disaster designation allows the United States Department of Agriculture (USDA) Farm Service Agency (FSA) to extend much-needed emergency credit to producers recovering from natural disasters through emergency loans.

    Emergency loans can be used to meet various recovery needs including the replacement of essential items such as equipment or livestock, reorganization of a farming operation or the refinance of certain debts. FSA will review the loans based on the extent of losses, security available and repayment ability.

    According to the U.S. Drought Monitor, these counties suffered from a drought intensity value during the growing season of 1) D2 Drought-Severe for 8 or more consecutive weeks or 2) D3 Drought-Extreme or D4 Drought-Exceptional.

    Impacted Area: South Dakota

    Triggering Disaster: Drought

    Application Deadline: March 28, 2022

    Primary Counties Eligible: Clay and Hanson

    Contiguous Counties Also Eligible:
    South Dakota:

    Davison McCook Turner
    Hutchinson Miner Union
    Lincoln Sanborn Yankton

    Nebraska: Cedar and Dixon

    More Resources

    On, the Disaster Assistance Discovery Tool, Disaster-at-a-Glance fact sheet, and Farm Loan Discovery Tool can help you determine program or loan options. To file a Notice of Loss or to ask questions about available programs, contact your local USDA Service Center.

    The Latest

    Send press releases to

    View All Events

    [ecs-list-events limit="5" key="start date" order="asc"]
    Send press releases to

    View All Events