Georgia Peanut Commission Elects Armond Morris as Chairman

    Armond Morris, peanut farmer from Ocilla, Georgia, was elected chairman of the Georgia Peanut Commission during the monthly board meeting in February. This is Morris’ sixteenth term as chairman of the commission. He has also served as chairman of the board previously in 1996 and 1997, 2003 and every year since 2005.

    “I look forward to serving Georgia’s peanut growers as chairman in 2017. It is a pleasure to serve peanut producers in the state of Georgia and the commission is continually working to serve all peanut farmers in the state through research, promotion and education,” Morris says.

    “This is a critical time for Georgia agriculture and peanut producers. As farm income has declined, the next farm bill will be even more important to our peanut producers and family farmers. We are excited to have national agricultural leaders like our future Secretary of Agriculture Sonny Perdue and Zippy Duvall, American Farm Bureau president, who understand the importance of agriculture to the rural economy.”

    Other officers elected during the board meeting include Joe Boddiford, Sylvania, Georgia, as vice chairman and Rodney Dawson, Hawkinsville, Georgia, as treasurer.

    Board members Tim Burch, Newton, Georgia, and Donald Chase, Oglethorpe, Georgia, represent District 1 and District 5, respectively. The peanut producing counties of Georgia are divided into five districts in which peanut farmers elect a representative to serve on the Georgia Peanut Commission board.

    The Latest

    Send press releases to

    View All Events

    [ecs-list-events limit="5" key="start date" order="asc"]
    Send press releases to

    View All Events