Mississippi: 10 Counties Designated Natural Disaster Areas

    Drought stricken corn. Photo: USDA

    USDA has designated 10 counties in Mississippi as primary natural disaster areas due to damages and losses caused by a recent drought. Those counties are:

    Attala Claiborne Holmes Leflore Sunflower
    Carroll Copiah Lawrence Lincoln Washington

    “Our hearts go out to those Mississippi farmers and ranchers affected by recent natural disasters,” said Agriculture Secretary Tom Vilsack. “President Obama and I are committed to ensuring that agriculture remains a bright spot in our nation’s economy by sustaining the successes of America’s farmers, ranchers, and rural communities through these difficult times. We’re also telling Mississippi producers that USDA stands with you and your communities when severe weather and natural disasters threaten to disrupt your livelihood.”

    Farmers and ranchers in the following counties in Mississippi also qualify for natural disaster assistance because their counties are contiguous. Those counties are:

    Amite Grenada Jefferson Davis Neshoba Tallahatchie
    Bolivar Hinds Leake Pike Walthall
    Choctaw Humphreys Madison Rankin Warren
    Coahoma Issaquena Marion Sharkey Winston
    Franklin Jefferson Montgomery Simpson Yazoo

    Farmers and ranchers in Chicot County in Arkansas and Tensas Parish in Louisiana also qualify for natural disaster assistance because their county and parish are contiguous.

    All counties and parishes listed above were designated natural disaster areas on Oct. 14, 2015, making all qualified farm operators in the designated areas eligible for low interest emergency (EM) loans from USDA’s Farm Service Agency (FSA), provided eligibility requirements are met. Farmers in eligible counties and parishes have eight months from the date of the declaration to apply for loans to help cover part of their actual losses.

    FSA will consider each loan application on its own merits, taking into account the extent of losses, security available and repayment ability. FSA has a variety of programs, in addition to the EM loan program, to help eligible farmers recover from adversity.

    Additional programs available to assist farmers and ranchers include the Emergency Conservation Program, The Livestock Forage Disaster Program, the Livestock Indemnity Program, the Emergency Assistance for Livestock, Honeybees, and Farm-Raised Fish Program, and the Tree Assistance Program. Interested farmers may contact their local USDA Service Centers for further information on eligibility requirements and application procedures for these and other programs.

    The Latest

    Send press releases to

    View All Events

    [ecs-list-events limit="5" key="start date" order="asc"]
    Send press releases to

    View All Events