Illinois: State and Surrounding Areas Qualify for Ag Assistance Due to Flooding

    The U.S. Department of Agriculture (USDA) has designated 87 counties in Illinois as primary natural disaster areas due to damages and losses caused by excessive rain and flooding that occurred during the period of June 1, 2015, and continues. Those counties are:

    Adams Fulton Logan Randolph
    Alexander Gallatin McDonough Richland
    Bond Greene McLean Rock Island
    Brown Grundy Macon St. Clair
    Calhoun Hamilton Macoupin Saline
    Carroll Hancock Madison Sangamon
    Cass Hardin Marion Schuyler
    Champaign Henderson Marshall Scott
    Clark Henry Mason Stark
    Clay Iroquois Massac Tazewell
    Clinton Jackson Menard Union
    Crawford Jasper Mercer Vermilion
    Cumberland Jefferson Monroe Wabash
    DeKalb Jersey Montgomery Warren
    DeWitt Johnson Morgan Washington
    Douglas Kane Peoria Wayne
    DuPage Kankakee Perry White
    Edwards Knox Piatt Whiteside
    Effingham La Salle Pike Will
    Fayette Lawrence Pope Williamson
    Ford Lee Pulaski Woodford
    Franklin Livingston Putnam


    “Our hearts go out to those Illinois farmers and ranchers affected by recent natural disasters,” said Agriculture Secretary Tom Vilsack. “President Obama and I are committed to ensuring that agriculture remains a bright spot in our nation’s economy by sustaining the successes of America’s farmers, ranchers, and rural communities through these difficult times. We’re also telling Illinois producers that USDA stands with you and your communities when severe weather and natural disasters threaten to disrupt your livelihood.”

    Farmers and ranchers in the following counties in Illinois also qualify for natural disaster assistance because their counties are contiguous. Those counties are:

    Boone Cook McHenry Shelby
    Bureau Edgar Moultrie Stephenson
    Christian Jo Daviess Ogle Winnebago
    Coles Kendall


    Farmers and ranchers in the following counties in Indiana, Iowa, Kentucky and Missouri also qualify for natural disaster assistance because their counties are contiguous. Those counties are:


    Benton Knox Newton Sullivan Vigo
    Gibson Lake Posey Vermillion Warren



    Clinton Jackson Louisa Scott
    Des Moines Lee Muscatine



    Ballard Crittenden Livingston McCracken Union



    Cape Girardeau Marion Saint Charles
    Clark Mississippi Sainte Genevieve
    Jefferson Perry Saint. Louis
    Lewis Pike Saint. Louis City
    Lincoln Ralls Scott


    All counties and city listed above were designated natural disaster areas on Aug. 12, 2015, making all qualified farm operators in the designated areas eligible for low interest emergency (EM) loans from USDA’s Farm Service Agency (FSA), provided eligibility requirements are met.

    Farmers in eligible counties have eight months from the date of the declaration to apply for loans to help cover part of their actual losses. FSA will consider each loan application on its own merits, taking into account the extent of losses, security available and repayment ability. FSA has a variety of programs, in addition to the EM loan program, to help eligible farmers recover from adversity.

    The Latest

    Send press releases to

    View All Events

    [ecs-list-events limit="5" key="start date" order="asc"]
    Send press releases to

    View All Events