Kansas: 26 Counties Designated Natural Disaster Areas

    USDA has designated 26 counties in Kansas as primary natural disaster areas due to damages and losses caused by a recent drought. Those counties are:

    Barber Gray Logan Sherman
    Cheyenne Greeley Meade Stanton
    Clark Hamilton Morton Stevens
    Comanche Harper Pratt Thomas
    Finney Haskell Scott Wallace
    Ford Kearny Seward Wichita
    Grant Kiowa

    “Our hearts go out to those Kansas farmers and ranchers affected by recent natural disasters,” said Agriculture Secretary Tom Vilsack. “President Obama and I are committed to ensuring that agriculture remains a bright spot in our nation’s economy by sustaining the successes of America’s farmers, ranchers, and rural communities through these difficult times. We’re also telling Kansas producers that USDA stands with you and your communities when severe weather and natural disasters threaten to disrupt your livelihood.”

    Farmers and ranchers in the following counties in Kansas also qualify for natural disaster assistance because their counties are contiguous. Those counties are:

    Decatur Hodgeman Ness Sheridan
    Edwards Kingman Rawlins Stafford
    Gove Lane Reno Sumner

    Farmers and ranchers in Colorado, Nebraska and Oklahoma also qualify for natural disaster assistance because their counties are contiguous. Those counties are:


    Baca Cheyenne Kiowa Kit Carson
    Prowers Yuma



    Alfalfa Beaver Cimarron Grant
    Harper Texas Woods

    All counties listed above were designated natural disaster areas on Feb. 4, 2015, making all qualified farm operators in the designated areas eligible for low interest emergency (EM) loans from USDA’s Farm Service Agency (FSA), provided eligibility requirements are met. Farmers in eligible counties have eight months from the date of the declaration to apply for loans to help cover part of their actual losses.

    FSA will consider each loan application on its own merits, taking into account the extent of losses, security available and repayment ability. FSA has a variety of programs, in addition to the EM loan program, to help eligible farmers recover from adversity.

    Additional programs available to assist farmers and ranchers include the Emergency Conservation Program, The Livestock Forage Disaster Program, the Livestock Indemnity Program, the Emergency Assistance for Livestock, Honeybees, and Farm-Raised Fish Program, and the Tree Assistance Program. Interested farmers may contact their local USDA Service Centers for further information on eligibility requirements and application procedures for these and other programs.

    The Latest

    Send press releases to

    View All Events

    [ecs-list-events limit="5" key="start date" order="asc"]
    Send press releases to

    View All Events